The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has announced the 15-man squad for the most-awaited upcoming World Cup, scheduled to start on Thursday, May 30 in England and Wales. The Afghans are deemed as one of the dark horses of the 50-overs mega event and are set to play their opening match against Australia at the County Ground in Bristol on Saturday, June 1.

Two weeks after being sacked as the Afghanistan captain from all formats and the board announcing split captaincy for all three formats, Asghar Afghan has been named in their squad for the ICC World Cup 2019. Also finding a place in the 15-man squad is veteran seamer Hamid Hassan.

The Asian nation has named the 15-man squad after culling eight names from the initial 23-man squad that was named on April 5. Following which, Afghanistan were involved in a training camp in South Africa to zero in on the final squad.

Chief Selector, Dawlat Khan Ahmadzai commented, “It is has been a six-month preparation process for the ICC Cricket World Cup. The mission is to play inspirational cricket in the tournament; I know there are strong teams but we will do our level best to achieve our goals.”

Ahmadzai added,” As chief selector, It is my duty to select a competitive team. However, there were some challenges that we needed to handle. We selected the best squad considering factors such as experience, fitness, team balance, current form and conditions.”

The squad is as follows:

Gulbadin Naib (C), Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Noor Ali Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, CRashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Aftab Alam, Hamid Hassan and Mujeeb ur Rahman.  

The committee also announced that three players, namely: Ikram Alikhil, Karim Janat and Sayed Shirzad are considered as reserve players.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × two =